Lettinga Award 2015 pre-announcement: seeking new perspectives for anaerobic digestion

Posted on 5 March 2015

Later this year the sixth Lettinga Award will be handed out during the 14th Anaerobic digestion congress in Chile in November. The organiser of this award, the Lettinga Foundation, recently published its first call for nominations for innovative projects with added value to anaerobic digestion technology.

Linked with international congress
The Lettinga Award is organised in the same year as the Anaerobic digestion congress of the International Water Association (IWA) that is held every three years. The prize winner will be announced during this congress and at the same time the results of the previous winner are shared.

The Lettinga Award will be adjudged to a project, not an individual person, nor an institute. Apart from projects aiming at technological innovations, also activities that are focused on awareness, implementation, knowledge transfer and demonstration of sustainable environmental biotechnologies are eligible.

 During the Anaerobic digestion congress in 2013 professor Gatze Lettinga (middle) was awarded honorary doctorate at University of Santiago de Compostela.

Value creation with anaerobic treatment
The Lettinga Award was initiated in 2001 by the Lettinga Foundation and three Dutch environmental technology suppliers to stimulate the development and implementation of anaerobic treatment technology.

Since then the award has been given every two to three years during the IWA Anaerobic Digestion congress. During the congress the results of the previous winning project are presented.

Nowadays, anaerobic technology is considered a mature technology that is not only applied to treat domestic and industrial waste streams, but also to create value with it.

Important dates
● May 31, 2015
Deadline submission of the pre-proposals
● September 7, 2015
Deadline submission of the final proposal
● November 18, 2015
Annoucement of the winner of the Lettinga Award 2015 at the 14th Anaerobic digestion congress in Chile

Previous winners
The Lettinga Award was initiated in 2001 and has been awarded for five times now.
● 2013 - Shiva Salek
Adding value to anaerobic digestion by production of biobased materials and methane enriched biogas using alkaline silicate minerals
● 2010 - Shelley Brown-Malker, Rene Rozendal, Damien Batstone, Paul Jensen, Cristian Picioreanu, Korneel Rabaey and Jurg Keller
Adding value to anaerobic digestion by bio-electrochemically upgrading the CO2 and H2S fractions of biogas
● 2007 - Dr. Francisco J. (Paco) Cervantes
Immobilization of redox mediators in nanostructures for the anaerobic treatment of industrial wastewaters
● 2004 - Dr. Madalena Alves
A new anaerobic technology for efficient mineralization of lipids / LCFA
● 2001 Dr. Jim A. Field and Dr. Reyes Sierra
Anaerobic granular sludge bed technology know-how transfer/web pages

The Lettinga Award is organised by the Lettinga Foundation. At this moment Paques and Veolia have already agreed to sponsor this sixth Lettinga Award. Sponsorship by other companies is being negotiated.

Also read on this website
Professor Gatze Lettinga awarded honorary doctorate at University of Santiago de Compostela, Spain, 26 June 2013
Biography professor Gatze Lettinga: My Anaerobic Sustainability Story, 4 August 2014
Shiva Salek wins Lettinga Award 2013 for capturing CO2 in biogas from anaerobic digestion, 6 July 2013

More information 
Lettinga Foundation 
Wageningen, the Netherlands 
+31 317 484 208


Dutch Water Sector


20 hours ago

Election fever: politicians debate #water issues in the Netherlands @waterschappen @ihedelft

Dutch Water Sector


4 days ago

AIWW Conference 2019: Call for cases that illustrate new value chains in water sector. Submit your abstract or prop…

Worldwide Projects

Upcoming Events