dws-lettinga-award-2017-770pxLater this year the seventh Lettinga Award will be handed out during the 15th Anaerobic digestion congress in Beijing, China, in October.

The organiser of this award, the Lettinga Foundation, recently published its first call for nominations for this prestigious award for anaerobic digestion technology.

dws-lettinga-award-2017-gatze-350px  Emeritus professor Gatze Lettinga in anaerobic wastewater treatment of Wageningen University and inventor of the Upflow anaerobic sludge blanket (UASB) technology.

Most innovative idea
Do you work with urban, industrial, agricultural waste(waters), and do you have an innovative project idea for application of anaerobic technology? Lettinga Award 2017 – a prize of 10,000 Euros - may help you developing it further.

The award will be given to an innovative idea in using anaerobic technology for closing resource cycles.

The sponsors of the award Paques, Biothane and LeAF are excited to stimulate ideas that could contribute to future sustainable societies.

Pitch your idea and make a short movie. Send your movie - max. 5 minutes - together with a short abstract - max. 500 words - via Wetransfer to e-mail address: info@leaf-wageningen.nl.

You can submit your movie and abstract until March 30, 2017.

The five best ideas will receive feedback from the jury of the competition and will be asked to provide additional information about their idea.

The Lettinga Award is traditionally coupled to the IWA World Conference on Anaerobic Digestion (AD), where the winner will be announced to the public. The next AD World Conference will take place on 17-20 October 2017 in Beijing, China.

dws-lettinage-award-milk-chiller-2015-350pxSimGas´milk chiller on biogas that won the Lettinga Award 2015.

Previous winners
The Lettinga Award was initiated in 2001 and has been awarded for five times now.
● 2015 – SimGas
Adding value to anaerobic digestion by development of a biogas powered milk chilling solution for East African smallholder farmers
● 2013 - Shiva Salek
Adding value to anaerobic digestion by production of biobased materials and methane enriched biogas using alkaline silicate minerals
● 2010 - Shelley Brown-Malker, Rene Rozendal, Damien Batstone, Paul Jensen, Cristian Picioreanu, Korneel Rabaey and Jurg Keller. 
Adding value to anaerobic digestion by bio-electrochemically upgrading the CO2 and H2S fractions of biogas
● 2007 - Dr. Francisco J. Paco Cervantes
Immobilization of redox mediators in nanostructures for the anaerobic treatment of industrial wastewaters
● 2004 - Dr. Madalena Alves
A new anaerobic technology for efficient mineralization of lipids / LCFA
● 2001 Dr. Jim A. Field and Dr. Reyes Sierra
Anaerobic granular sludge bed technology know-how transfer/web pages

This news item was originally published on the website of the Lettinga Foundation.

Read also on this website
Biography professor Gatze Lettinga: My Anaerobic Sustainability Story, 4 August 2014
Shiva Salek wins Lettinga Award 2013 for capturing CO2 in biogas from anaerobic digestion, 6 July 2013
Professor Gatze Lettinga awarded honorary doctorate at University of Santiago de Compostela, Spain, 26 June 2013

More information 
Lettinga Foundation 
Wageningen, the Netherlands 
+31 317 484 208