US-Dutch design team Kleinelder, Stoss, One Architecture, Urbanism and Woods Hole Group won the annual World Landscape Architecture award 2018 for its conceptual design of a resilient coastline for East Boston.

The e-magazine World Landscape Architecture announced this year’s winners on 11 April for each category including Built Design – Small, Built Design – Large, Conceptual and Student.

dws-one-wla-award-aerial2-350px  City of Boston wants to be prepared for climate change and makes its coastline more resilent to extreme storms.

Innovative landscape architecture
The annual award programme was launched by the WLA e-magazine in 2017 and aims to recognise outstanding and innovative work by landscape architects and students across the globe.

The five headed jury is chosen by WLA from internationally acclaimed landscape architectural and design practices. They selected this year’s winners from entries of all over the world and addressed many themes, particularly climate change and creating places for people.

Climate preparedness planning
The winning design, the Coastal Resilience Solutions For East Boston and Charlestown outlines short- and long-term strategies for protecting some of Boston's most disadvantaged communities and hundreds of millions of dollars' worth of critical infrastructure.

Boston is among just a few cities taking on climate preparedness planning in advance of suffering from the kind of storm events that have ravaged parts of Houston, Puerto Rico, South Florida, and New York recently and in the past few years.

dws-one-wla-award-boston-aerial-impression-350pxCombination of functions
The design includes waterfront open spaces with strategic elevated areas, combining flood protection, waterfront access, recreation, and mobility.

One of the features in the design is a park that can flood (see top page impression).

Over 400 residents from East Boston and Charlestown participated in the design process through meetings, community events, open houses, and an online survey.

East Boston and Charlestown residents, businesses, and organizations shared their desire for effective and long-lasting solutions to keep them safe from coastal flooding while also enhancing their neighbourhoods.

dws-one-wla-awardl-cycle-path-350pxWinner of the category small project was the Belgian cycle path through water in Bokrijk, Belgium.

Other WLA winners
Winners in the other categories, are:
● Built design award - small project: Cycling through Water - Province Limburg (Belgium)
● Built design award- large project: Klyde Warren Park – OJB Landscape Architecture (USA)
● Student award: National Geo-munument park - Nipun Hettiarachchi (Sri Lanka)
● Editor award: Medellín river parks – Sebastian Monsalve Gomez (Colombia)

World Landscape Architecture is an e-magazine curated by passionate landscape architect Damian Holmes to publicise the work of landscape architects and to provide landscape architects and students with the ability to promote their work whether it be design, policy, or research.

The magazine has over 45,000 monthly readers from across the world.

Read also on this website
Winners of Resilient by Design allocated to project sites around San Francisco Bay, USA, 16 January 2018
BIG and One Architecture awarded for Manhattan's flood protection ribbon, 29 September 2015
Amsterdam International Water Week 2017: Real cases and workshops on how to replumb cities, 29 June 2017

More information
One Architecture Amsterdam
Amsterdam, the Netherlands
+31 20 470 0040

World Lanscape Architect